Shuckin’ and Tuckin’

27 May

The TVA has still not seen fit to stop the spilling on the Tennessee tailwaters.  This has thrown a wrench in the plans of a lot of float guides around here as of late.  This conundrum has been compounded by Memorial Day Weekend and the influx of gapers and eager fisherman into our mountains for the three day weekend.  With TN out, the Tuck is pretty much the only game left in town.  It’s kind of like at a small college when the fat chicks don’t look so fat due the relative absence of good lookin’ chicks.  I am not saying the Tuck is a fat chick, she is more like the mousy girl who hangs out with the hot girls but doesn’t get the attention that her better looking friends get due to the presence of  a snaggle tooth or perhaps a hair lip.  But once you turn out the lights she does pretty good (Thus concludes my tortured metaphor).  I have floated the Tuck four out of the last five days and feel I have gained a little insight into this river that I will now share with the masses.

The main problem with the Tuck for the boats is the the top section is as bony as a Kenyan marathon runner off generation, and off generation is when the fishing is actually worth a damn. I don’t mind draggin’ the Hog through a couple of riffles but for an hour straight gets a little ridiculous.  The best thing about the Tuck is that it is the most heavily stocked stretch of water in North Carolina.  The state puts something like 10,000 trout a month into the Tuck and with those type of numbers the Tuck stacks up nicely with any tailwater in the southeast.  The Tuck is no secret however, and gets pounded like a pretty white guy in prison all season long.

Day 1

Day 1 was tough.  Water was off color and high and the fish were not co-operating.  We had some eats but nothing to write home about.

Day 2

This was a first.  I took out a father and son who had no desire to fly fish, try fly fishing, or even tolerate a fly rod in the boat.  I know what you are thinking, that I have betrayed all my fellow fur and feather flingers with my Benedict Arnold like treachery.  Well, screw all of you…I have a son on the way and I gotst’ to get paid.  They brought all their own gear and all I really had to do was tie on rooster tails, run the boat, and watch the melee.  I started out fly fishing as a kid and never pursued the dark side of the force, so this was the first day in my life I got to watch spin fisherman go at it for a whole day.  I don’t know if it was the tackle or the just that day but those guys absolutely slayed it.  Between two boats we must have boated and released 80 trout and a couple of smallies.

Little man bringin' the pain

Little man bringin' the pain

Big man bringin' the funk

Big man bringin' the funk

If for nothing else, you gotta admire the efficiency of spinning tackle.  Everyone went home as happy as pigs in poop and it was the easiest money I ever made.

Day 3

I gave one of my college friends a gift certificate for a full day float (As I am broke) for his 30th birthday and the bastard took me up on it.  We got started fly fishing together and where I became obsessed with the fine pursuit of fishing he wasted his time getting a masters, PHD, and making something of himself…sucker.

My buddy Brock and the first trout he's seen in years...years

My buddy Brock and the first trout he's seen in years...years

We met up with Ryan and Chris at the put in.  The generation from that morning was still flowing so the action was slow to start with. Everybody picked up a fish here or there while we waited for the water to come down.  We got into a couple of pods as the day wore on and my buddy and I left Ryan and Chris up river as we had wives waiting on us for dinner.  Well when they caught up with us at the takeout they were rocking full on teepee’s in their pants and started blathering about thirty fish and twenty inchers.  Me being my skeptical self I called bullshit and then they showed me the pictures.  Well I found out where the spot was (and no I am not going to tell you) and made a mental note for the next day.

More than a handful fellas

More than a handful fellas

I think that fish is as tall as him

I think that fish is as tall as him

Seeing Ryan catch big fish is growing tiresome

Seeing Ryan catch big fish is growing tiresome

Day 4

Last day on the Tuck.  My sport was 95 and in a wheelchair.  This was probably gonna be the last time he ever got to go fishing.  No pressure right.  The water was off color again but I used all my ninja like prowess to get on the fish.  I hit up the honey hole and we started tagging fish old guy style.  My favorite part was my sport would yell Geronimo every time he caught one and Geronimo was heard  a lot.  It kind of makes you feel good because at the end of the day I’ll probably be that guy in 50 years.

So in the end the Tuck can definitely be worth the hassle but the key is locating fish.  As far as flies we caught them on everything from buggers to eggy juans to small pheasant tails.  This weekend the crew is gathering in Maryland to fish and film the NB of the Potomac River.  Geronimo Mother Fuckers…Geronimo.

Till Next Time

Till Next Time

-Nymph-o

One Response to “Shuckin’ and Tuckin’”

  1. Wookie May 27, 2009 at 8:38 PM #

    NICE!!! AS USUAL!!

Throw us a Line

