The New ain’t New no more!

14 Jul

So it seems the “Dog Days of Summer” have arrived, and most of the trout rivers we frequent are low, clear, and crowded. After a few ball buster days with the river crowds and snooty trout we decided to chase some “Bronze”. While Fall and Spring seem to be peak times for trout, the heat of summer is when the Smallies go banana’s.

Now it was decision time. Living in a smallmouth mecca, it was down to choosing the best river to float. Being that the New River is a world famous smallmouth factory, it was a no brainer. Since the Wookie lives in the upper reaches of WV, and the hobbit and I live in and around NC, we decided to meet in the middle. The decision was made to float two sections below Bluestone Lake near Hinton, WV.

The Hobbit and I met “The Wookie” aka Murphy on the river Saturday morning and we embarqued on our first trip down the New.

I will spare those with short attention spans with a long detailed report. Instead I will let my pretty little pictures tell the rest of the story, along with subcaptions, so you will get my drift. Oh, since the Hobbit is to lazy to send me pictures from his camera, I will have to post some more pics in a few days. That being said, there were an estimated 100 fish caught in a day and a half, to include a beast of a Carp that slapped Murphy in the face as it broke him off.

Ok, Ok, here are the pictures…

On the road to WV.

On the road to WV.

The New River

The New River

The Hobbit known as Frodo on stick duty.

The Hobbit known as Frodo on stick duty.

The Bounty

The Bounty

Frodo slingin meat!

Frodo slingin meat!

Yours truly with Mr. Redeye.

Yours truly with Mr. Redeye.

Lunch.......Yes I know what your thinking, but its really good!

Lunch.......Yes I know what your thinking, but its really good!

My super sweet photography skills, or was it the Rum and Coke induced tremors.

My super sweet photography skills, or was the Rum and Coke induced tremors.

We had a visitor.

We had a visitor.

Bronze

Bronze

Lodging

Lodging

Oh so pretty !

Oh so pretty !

Wookie and Mr. C-bass.

Wookie and Mr. C-bass.

Those are some might big lips you have !

Those are some might big lips you have !

This is all I have until Frodo produces the rest of the pic’s. I will post a follow-up in a day or two.

Until then,

Ryan

Throw us a Line

