The Pellet Has Landed

9 Aug

I have been in the fine state of Kentucky the past few days with nary a trout in sight.  My husbandly responsibilities have landed me here for a weekend full of weddings, family, and baby showers.  So of course I brought my tying kit with me and decided to make the most out of my forced Kentucky internment  by catching up on my mid-season fly needs.  I have noticed that my junk food box of flies is seriously low so I felt this would be the perfect opportunity to tie up some pellet flies for the Davidson, as well as the shop’s recently restocked private water (Money! Money! Cha Ching! Cha Ching!) 

The pellet fly is a much maligned topic in most circles of fly fisherman.  Much like the cousin who is kept chained in the basement and fed fishheads, the pellet fly is often subtly alluded to but rarely discussed in the open.  Well your friend Nymph-o is going to shine the light on this thing like Geraldo in  a meat packing plant.  Here, folks, is how I make the magic happen.

 

The Pom Pom...the key ingredient in this shit show

The Pom Pom...the key ingredient in this shit show

 

The Hook...also important

The Hook...also important

 

Throw some thread into the mix

Throw some thread into the mix

 

Liberally apply glue to threaded hook (by "apply" I mean "sniff")

Liberally apply glue to threaded hook (by "apply" I mean "sniff")

 

Never forget you poo brown marker...you'll need it ti make the pom pom poo colored after you heve inserte the hook

Never forget your poo brown marker...you'll need it to make the pom pom poo colored after you have inserted the hook

 

Look at pellet flies and drink heavily to drown out the shame of resulting to such demeaning tactics for catching trout

Look at pellet flies and drink heavily to drown out the shame of resorting to such demeaning tactics for catching trout

So don’t let the shame keep you prisoner any longer.  Tie up your favorite pellet fly…go down to your local pellet hog factory, and make a memory that will last a lifetime…but if anybody asks, you caught that Trophy on a Yellow Stimulator.

– Nymph-o

DSC_0036

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(I got a little to close to the reindeer at the petting zoo…surprisingly his breath smelled like elves)

3 Responses to “The Pellet Has Landed”

  1. Wookie August 9, 2009 at 7:53 PM #

    You never fail to amaze!

  2. RiverGeezer March 2, 2010 at 8:26 AM #

    I have been proudly using the PF (pelletus fabricati)fly for years. It is the go-to fly for the pellet-fed bass and bluegill in my pond.

    • Nymph-o March 2, 2010 at 8:42 AM #

      They work quite nicely on big stupid pellet fed trout as well. My new project is to create a human size pellet fly to lure big stupid pellet fed tourists away from my favorite holes during the summer.

Throw us a Line

