Left Behind

11 Nov

I hate not fishing.  The only thing I hate more than not fishing is not fishing when I know my friends are fishing.  Ryan, Murphy, and Mitch have descended upon New York and the Lake Run Brown carnage has commenced.   Mitch sent me a very blurry picture of a monster brown that he claims was the smallest one caught yesterday.  I hate him and hope he contracts an especially bad case of Gonorreah from either a Taiwanese lady of the night, or Murphy. Either way just as long as it is painful and doesn’t go away for at least a month.  He could have at least sent a decent picture, as I am not Mr. Magoo nor do I wear a thick enough prescription lens to focus this nonsense clearly.  Must be photoshopped as Mitch does not generally have enough skill to wrangle a specimen as fine as that one let alone the stockers he usually chases around the hills of West Virginia.photoTo make matters worse I am sitting on my couch instead of loading up the boat today.  The good lord, Jah, Buddha, Rah, or any other deity you believe to pull the so-called ephemeral strings, has chosen to stick it to your friend Nymph-o by hurling 3″ of river ruining rain in the last 24 hours.  The water gauges are off the chart and I am back on the couch tying flies that I am not sure I will ever have a chance to use.   I am thinking about picking up golf (or maybe foosball) as being a non-fishing fly fisherman has just become too painful.  Till next time.

Your friend,

Nymph-o  (soon to be changed to Bagger Vance)

4 Responses to “Left Behind”

  1. lsu flyfisher November 13, 2009 at 3:19 AM #

    hey, know how you feel – about tying flies you may never use I mean, I have a bunch of crazy charlies, gotchas and merkin crabs tied just in case I win the lottery and can afford the bahamas or belize – instead I’ll save my money and next May float th Watauga with your friend Dave G. and my son in law Michael.

    • bentrodmedia November 13, 2009 at 4:10 AM #

      Ooooo What a time we had in NY. Nymph-O (Dave G) was sorely missed. YOu will have a great time with dave on the stream. He is a great guide and entertainer. Just make sure to bring him a snickers bar!!! Also, be sure to put yourself in a tree at least 10 times….make him work for a tip and always blame a missed fish on his poor rowing.

  2. MLB November 13, 2009 at 1:57 PM #

    Im your friend Dave 🙂 It was actually Ryan’s idea to torture you with the pics….I know what youre going through..Last year during the NY trip I was at home with a crying newborn and a post-partum wife…Next year we will all converge on the lake run piggies….

  3. Davo November 28, 2009 at 6:15 PM #

    you guys rock

Throw us a Line

