Introspection Is Hard Work…and Therefore Unlikely

9 Dec

I wrangled a couple of hours last Sunday to go fishing with a friend of mine,  let’s call him Mike (coincidentally his name is actually Mike…go figure).   Mike is your average fly fisherman who does not get to fish as much as he would like to, but when he does get out he makes the most of it.  A bunch of the usual suspects had been feeding me reports of the Davidson going off and being only 30 minutes away it provided the best time to trout spanking ratio.  I had a four-hour time window before I turned into a pumpkin and my wife turned into an Amazonian testicle rupturing version of her usual lovely self so the Davidson was a pretty easy choice.  Got to the hatchery, said hello to the buzzards and headed down to the flats.    There happened to be a couple of other guides from the shop that emerged from the woods shortly after Mike and I got settled.   The Davidson is a straight midge fishery by most folks interpretations with the tiny little bastard flies producing better than any other on a day-to-day basis.  Myself as well as the two other guides were fishing straight midge rigs while Mike, being the lovable bastard he is, was bucking all reason andf fishing a size 16 pheasant tail.  I know what you are thinking because it was the same thing I was thinking, “I hope he doesn’t like catching fish because that pheasant tail is as likely to work as me sticking my left nut in the water and waiting for the big one to bite.”  Well apparently I should have tried the whole testicle thing because Mike caught two over 21″ and  the other two guides and myself in the shop landed two over 9″ (both mine thank you very much) in the same time period.  This shaming drove home two facts.  One, that I suck.  Two, that much like the sweet art of love-making, doing the same old shit day after day can only lead to disappointment and an overall hollow feeling inside. Well played sir, well-played.

-Nymph-o

5 Responses to “Introspection Is Hard Work…and Therefore Unlikely”

  1. lsu flyfisher December 11, 2009 at 4:36 AM #

    hey Dave, glad you owned up to your adventure, be aware that Mikey has an uncanny sense of what will catch fish, as you found out. Looking forward to fish the Wautauga with you in the spring when we go to visit Mike and Jennie. Hope wife and baby are doing fine.
    Juan, Mikey’s father in law.

    • Nymph-o December 11, 2009 at 12:53 PM #

      I am still crying on the inside from the shaming your son in law handed down to me

  2. lsu flyfisher December 12, 2009 at 4:11 AM #

    hey, he is a zen master so don’t feel bad, he is just a quiet but deadly samurai with a fly rod.

  3. Kent Klewein December 13, 2009 at 4:35 PM #

    Dave,

    Nice post man. I always enjoy reading your tricked out posts that bring laughter and grins every time. Hope all is well. Glad to hear you got to get out and fish some. Even if you didn’t kill them. You’ll get them next time.

    I’d really like to head up your way and get together with you guys. I’m looking at heading up with Louis Cahill after Christmas Holidays. I’ll give you a shout.
    Kent

    • Nymph-o December 16, 2009 at 8:25 PM #

      thanks man, my mind is like an onion…layer upon layer. Let me know when you guys are coming up so I can make sure I have all the proper clearances to get after some trout with you fellas

Throw us a Line

