The Filthiest Fish

25 Jan

I have debased myself in various ways over the years but this weekend I reached a new low.  I spent the weekend with some college friends on some private NC water.  Fishing was not the reason for the trip but my buddies who had never fished wanted to learn a little.  Unfortunately a lack of waders and boots tied them to the shore…of the kids pond.  My friend Joe caught  his first trout on the fly when a 20″ Pond Rainbow inhaled his black Circus Peanut.  There was a picture taken but I will not be sharing it, so as to protect those involved.  I am off to take a very hot shower and scrub myself with steel wool until the stench of my shame is no longer palpable when I walk into a room.

-Nymph-o

6 Responses to “The Filthiest Fish”

  1. Wookie January 25, 2010 at 5:58 PM #

    That smell was there way before this trip. A bath in tomato paste may do the trick.

    • Nymph-o January 29, 2010 at 10:27 AM #

      I don’t like baths…for any reason

  2. lsu flyfisher January 26, 2010 at 7:59 AM #

    hey look at it this way – you now have introduced some friends to the sport of fly fishing – unless they were too drunk to remember, then try bleach to remove the stench, it may work better than steel wool.

    • Nymph-o January 29, 2010 at 10:26 AM #

      no, the drinking hadn’t begun in earnest until after the beast was slayed, and the steel wool adds the component of pain. I always find pain to be an important part of self-flagellation.

  3. chuckles January 26, 2010 at 8:55 AM #

    cover yourself in burnt motor oil for 3 hours-told a buddy this in college as a cure for buster de crab, and, well, i haven’t heard from him in years……..

    • Nymph-o January 29, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

      What the hell is buster de crab chuckles. Is that a disease from the 1920’s that I am not familiar with. If so I think I had a case sophomore year in college after a quick trip Mexico way.

Throw us a Line

