A Shellacking Appropriate For Cupid Himself

15 Feb

I work hard to put people on fish.  I work hard even when I know the universe has stacked itself against me like a galactic club sandwich.  Rain, snow, no bugs, anorexic trout, shitty casting, even shittier sets, whatever…I still put folks on fish.  When I get the increasingly rare opportunity to take a personal fishing day, working hard for fish is not exactly what I’m looking for.  I beat my head against a wall enough for a day job, I don’t need that nonsense on my day off.   This desire for easy fish-filled days usually, like most things in life, falls markedly short of expectations.  Fish are caught, but that magic of everything going right never quite materializes. At this point I feel like that dreadlocked fellow in the parking lot holding an empty balloon when the tank runs out, a day late and a dollar short.  This dark soul hole can only be filled with too much drink, questionable moral forays, and more fishing.  Every once in a while though, the stars align, Buddha craps karmic bliss, and a day like I had Sunday is served up on a silver platter like a succulent hog choking on an apple.  I caught fish for five hours straight with the first two flies I tied on. These fish were what some purists (I am making air quotes right now) might call pellet hogs, but they provided me with more than enough entertainment on a cold Valentine’s Day morning.  The only thing that could’ve made this day any better was if someone else would’ve been there  so I could’ve had someone to talk shit to.

And Don't Forget Wifey Who Let You Go Fishing In The First Place

– Nymph-o

3 Responses to “A Shellacking Appropriate For Cupid Himself”

  1. WOokie February 15, 2010 at 10:24 PM #

    As Tony would say GeeeeeeeeRRRRRR-A-T-E!!!!!

  2. lsu flyfisher February 16, 2010 at 7:33 PM #

    lucky for you that you sucked up to the Mrs. as the last statement on your post – how is being a dad and the neew house doing – you sure have a lot on your plate these days. We’ll be in Ashville in May at Mike and Jennie’s, maybe we can wet a line.

    • Nymph-o February 17, 2010 at 11:38 AM #

      yeah Juan I got way too much shit going on, but I will make time when you are in town to catch a fish or two or three

Throw us a Line

