Snuggies and Trout…Like Spaghetti and Tunafish

1 Mar

I find myself  in quite the conundrum.  I fished the South Holston yesterday with a couple of other guides from the shop.  Weather was cold and gray but fish were hitting the top, and every once in a while, with a 15′ 7X leader they might even give the old Comparadun a nosh.  Catching was by no means fast and furious but I did catch my fair share of  butter and bows (you gotta start fishing soft hackles on tailwaters if you don’t already…trust me I know of what I speak).  The same cannot be said for my aforementioned fishing companions…and this is where my conundrum rests.  The ride home was a confusing emotional trip, the likes of which I haven’t experienced since I clumsily groped my first booby.  On one hand I felt like an asshole for savoring a day well fished,  and on the other stinky palm rested feelings of school girl giddiness due to the fact that I out fished two of my professional peers.  I have been on the other end of this scenario more times than I would care to admit, and always remember thinking, “That smug fish catching asshole”.  This sentiment held true whether the fish catching asshole in question was quiet about his day or if he was calling everyone we knew to shout about my ineptitude from the mountain tops.   My question is, in this situation if I’m gonna be labeled a smug asshole no matter what I do, shouldn’t I just go ahead and  wrap myself in smug assholiness,  like a cheetah print Snuggy, and really live it up?

Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions Please Forward to HelloMyNameIsDaveAndIMightBeASmugFishCatchingAsshole@gmail.com

– Nymph-o

10 Responses to “Snuggies and Trout…Like Spaghetti and Tunafish”

  1. bentrodmedia March 1, 2010 at 12:14 PM #

    Where is the evidence? We live and die not only by your words but by your pictures…I need my TN Trout fix. This must have just been another dream written when awoken from your sweaty slumber screaming no daddy noooooo.

    You are wearing my websters out trying to figure out what you are saying………great post!!!

    BayE

  2. Nymph-o March 1, 2010 at 12:40 PM #

    left the camera at home by accident, I can provide eye witnesses if necessary

  3. BayE March 1, 2010 at 4:58 PM #

    Jed dosen’t count.

  4. Ryan March 1, 2010 at 5:54 PM #

    Daves idea of fair share is more than 1 fish. Because we all know nymph-o can’t cast a 15 ft leader without getting tangled.

  5. BayE March 1, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

    Would be nice to go walk the banks where he fished to pick his flies out of the trees. Kinda like looking for lost golf balls at the golf course.

  6. Nymph-o March 1, 2010 at 7:38 PM #

    you guys are funny. First off, i turn a 15′ leader over the way your daddies used to turn you over right before they whipped your asses. Secondly, the only thing I leave in the trees is your respective loved ones panties after i show them how a real angler makes the love.

    • Chad March 2, 2010 at 9:12 AM #

      People just came over to my desk to ask what the hell I was laughing about. How do I explain myself?

      • Nymph-o March 2, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

        blame psychopathy…always works for me

  7. icetrout March 1, 2010 at 9:05 PM #

    WTF dose any of this have to do with flyfishing??? How bout sending me some of that kindbud ya’ll are puffing on 😛

    • Nymph-o March 1, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

      Fly fishing…life’s eternal questions…same shit just different poles

Throw us a Line

