1 Scott S4 + Client = Broken S4 = New A3

28 Apr

I break things.  I break a lot of things.  The list is to long to go into, but the highlights would include cars, boats, rods, reels,  store displays, light fixtures, computers, ipods, iphones, glasses, and most of all hearts (you know who I’m talking about ladies).  I am the proverbial bull in the china shop and my modus operandi is to walk in, take a crap, and leave a path of destruction on my way out.  I have accepted this about myself.  This fact does not, however, make it any easier for me when other people are responsible for the aforementioned destruction…especially when it’s my favorite rod my Scott S4.  I smiled and said it was no big deal when he came walking up the trail with the rod in three (not two) pieces, “That’s why they have lifetime warranties,” you irresponsible rod breaking bastard.  It is my fault for putting my favorite rods in folks hands, but I always figured if I was one day to be guided somewhere (not gonna happen anytime soon) I would be pretty disappointed if the guide handed me some poor excuse for a rod (like, let’s say an Orvis…yeah I said it…just joshing Uncle Dave, I still think you’re cool).  So I always try to provide my clients with the newest and nicest shit I can get my hands on.  No more, I cannot internalize my pain and shock any longer.  The next person, besides me, that breaks my Scott S4 (I know I am shamelessly promoting Scott here but I would really liked to get hooked up…hear that Scott…hook me up already before I have to come down there to Montrose and make it very uncomfortable for everyone involved…I’m talking partially nude interpretive dancing, and not the good partial nude either…just tops)  is going to face a verbal smack down not seen since the likes of Jimmy Hart at Wrestlemania XXXXXXIIII.  So like the Phoenix I have risen from the ashes of my favorite rod and bought a Scott A3 to replace my S4 in my client rod quiver.  I have had a 6 wt A2 for a while that I use for a meat stick and have really liked it.  The A3 is the new version, dressed up with all kinds of snazzy blue highlights that probably won’t make me fish any better, but will definitely go along way in finally bridging my fuchsia waders and aquamarine wading jacket in my overall color palette, so I got that going for me.  I plan on working out the new rod tomorrow on the Watauga (we’ll start with stretching, move directly into jazzercise, and then finish with a relaxing session of water aerobics).  I will let you’ll know how the new lady in  my life performs.

– Nymph-o

4 Responses to “1 Scott S4 + Client = Broken S4 = New A3”

  1. bentrodraul April 28, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

    You forgot to mention the time you left the FLi on the roof of you Tahoe and drove off!!! That was how you aquired the A2.

  2. bentrodraul April 28, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

    Oh and where did you get that picture of Murphy???

  3. BentrodBayE April 28, 2010 at 1:18 PM #

    I was a mega maniac fan back in the day!!! Until Bret Heart fell from the celing, like a goose being shot from the sky.

  4. Nymph-o April 28, 2010 at 1:44 PM #

    Thanks for the clarification on the whole A2 thing, appreciate it. That picture is Jimmy “The Mouth of The South” Hart, a completely different redneck then Murphy.

Throw us a Line

