Stop Breakin’ Down

22 Jun

Stop breakin’ down, please stop breakin’ down

The stuff I got’ll bust your brains out, baby

It’ll make you lose your mind

-Robert Johnston, Stop Breakin’ Down Blues

When you are in the middle of an epically bad string of luck your mind automatically wanders back to the last time the events of your life did not closely resemble a honey wagon colliding with a train. My mind has yet to identify that time. My current run of bad luck when placed into perspective probably ain’t all that bad. I am the first one to admit there is some really shitty things that can happen and luckily they have not happened to me. My family and I are healthy with a roof over our heads and we live smack in the middle of 3,000 miles of fine southern trout water. No, my current case of fate handing me big steaming cow-pies  involves mainly anything, and everything, I own slowly bleeding me dry one accident/mishap/cosmic fuck-up at a time. In the past three weeks I have had to buy a new fuel pump and bearing for my truck, three new bearings and an axle for my wife’s car, a new tip for my Winston 4-weight, a new hard drive for my laptop, and a pound of flesh to replace the one that I had to slice from my fatty backside to pay for it all.  The funny thing is that as I replay the last few abysmal weeks in my mind I keep coming back to the same scene.

There I am on the front of the skiff watching two tailing reds root around in the flooded grass thinking that my first shots at tailing Reds were sure to be my first hookups with tailing reds.  Two casts, and two eats later I am left with nothing but the briefest hookup and a whole lot of rage.  It has been a while since I have thrown a fishing tantrum, I guess all that pent up frustration, angst, and general immaturity can only stay bottled up so long before my three year old side has to make an appearance.  Luckily for all of you the whole thing was caught on tape. Enjoy my misfortune that started it all.

Click On Pic For The Video

– Nymph-o

2 Responses to “Stop Breakin’ Down”

  1. Nymph-o June 23, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

    Make that both my front bearings, FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!

  2. LSU flyfisher June 23, 2010 at 8:06 PM #

    hey, don’t want to rub it in, but check my new facebook page profile pic – I have 22 more for the 23 reds I caught that day. If the gulf ever gets unfuc**d I’ll take you down to get your fill of tailing reds. see you in October – hope family is OK and your shit quits breaking down.
    Juan K.

Throw us a Line

