Spanish Sausage and Large Mouth Bass

31 Mar
Teddy’s frist Large Mouth on the fly.

Got a call from Teddy just as I was about to head out the door in search of Mr. Bronze-Back at the local watering hole.  Teddy was up for an afternoon small mouth challenge as long as the water would cooperate.  Unfortunately after taking a look at the water I was a little leery about fishing the high dirty water.  I phoned NASA to search through my files of fishing spots and decided on a local farm pond that I haven’t fished in a few years that I have personally seen 2-fister large mouth bass come out of. 

Not pictured here is the Swan. It was a big as my Prius and looked to be as mean as a pitbull.

That goat sure did have his eye on Teddy.

Teddy sure did have his eye on that goat.

This is one of those fishing spots where you just can’t go and fish.  Time must be spent talking to the boss of the land, even if the boss in out back in the shed smoking sausage (smelled delicious) and cussing like a drunken sailor.  Big Frank is an old sailor but he was not drunk, that’s just how he is.  He talks as loud as he can and speaks exactly what is on his mind.  The nicest guy in the world, would give you the shirt off his back even if it was his last one.  But he’s also the type that you don’t want to piss off or you will find  yourself ground up in the smoke house.  Rest assured Frank was happy to see me and to meet teddy.  We were greeted with handshakes, hugs and spanish sausage to take home with the invite to come back anytime to fish or for food.  On the way to the pond we enjoyed the many sites:  Cats with kittens, big farm dogs on watch over the cattle, a 3 legged goat, chickens, ducks, a swan, and 10,000 noisy guineas.

As you can see we didn’t catch much, only two bass with 2 or 3 bumps. I wish I had a trout stream this close to my house but I won’t complain about a private pond full of bass and crappie.   It won’t be long before it warms up and lakes like these start to turn over.  Top-water large mouth…..I can’t wait.

Only real men row with shovels.

Couldn't resist the WMD!!

YUM!!!

Throw us a Line

